empty empty empty empty


Service Area Map

Lower Yellowstone Rural Electric Association Inc. (LYREA) is a rural electric cooperative headquartered in Sidney, Montana.   The counties LYREA serves include parts of Richland, Dawson, and Roosevelt counties, along with Williams and McKenzie counties in North Dakota.  

Lower Yellowstone Electric was started in 1937, and was the first electric cooperative in Montana.  The first REA pole was set between Sidney and Fairview.  Lower Yellowstone currently serves over 5600 meters and 2100 miles of transmission and distrubution line. LYREA supplies electricity to a wide variety of commercial, industrial, agricultural and residential services. Although, nearly 75% of the electrical sales serve commercial customers.  

The Cooperative is governed by a seven member Board of Directors who are elected by the membership they serve.  Lower Yellowstone Electric currently employs 25 employees.